30 Day Improvements: Dance

After starting the Paleo Whole30, I realized how easy it is to set a goal to change things up for 30 days.  And heaven knows I need some changes now and then!  Something I’ve been coming to terms with lately, is when I’m stressed, I’ve lost my outlets.  I don’t have a hobby or activity that I flee to when I need a break.  I’m going to change that.  And I’m going to use the 30 day model to stay motivated in doing so.

The first challenge I’ll be giving myself is to dance again.  I can teach my children and I can get back into shape doing it.  I used to teach ballet and lyrical dance and I miss it like crazy. I taught classes up until I was 8 months pregnant with my son and after that, I was part of a team and took several college dance credits.  But it’s been a good 5 years since I did anything serious. So for 30 days, I’ll be blogging and instructing how to do a simple ballet class.

Here’s my outline and goals:

1)  To teach my children, myself, and my readers how to do simple ballet exercises

2)  To become more flexible again (achieve the forward splits, a right angle arabesque, and a reasonable backbend)

3)  To choreograph.  By the end of the 30 days, I want to have an entire dance choreographed and I’ll post the sketch here.

If the love of dance returns after 30 days, maybe I’ll take it up as a permanent hobby, if not then I’ll continue the search for another activity. Here I go…!

One thought on “30 Day Improvements: Dance

Leave a Reply

