No ‘Poo

I’ve read several times about “no ‘poo” as it’s made it’s way around the interent.  “No ‘poo” (no shampoo) is the method of washing your hair with baking soda instead of traditional shampoos.  I was skeptical that it would work for me.  I have really course, wavy, dry hair and didn’t want to make it worse.  Over the years I have spent a lot of money on expensive hair products and was always looking for something better because nothing worked.  I also hate all the chemicals in regular shampoos, so I’ve been using more natural products but they weren’t treating my hair kindly either.  In an attempt to improve my hair and to become more crunchy, I finally took the plunge.

I got some squirt bottles, some baking soda and some vinegar.  Even after the first wash I could tell a positive difference in the condition of my hair. Now, three weeks later, I’m hooked.  I won’t go back.  Even my husband uses it and has been impressed.  Also, it costs pennies.  PENNIES, people!  The best thing I’ve found for my hair costs hardly anything. It’s natural, it’s cheap and it actually works!  My hair is shiny, less frizzy, has less split ends, doesn’t tangle, styles better and is so, so sof!    I’m in love.

There have been a couple times I’ve wanted to cleanse using some actual soap so I used Dr. Bronner’s Baby Mild Liquid Soap before using the baking soda and it worked beautifully.

IMG_4896

Here’s how you do it:

Get a couple condiment type squirt bottles. (I got mine from Target)

Fill one with about 4 Tbs of baking soda and then fill with water.  (This will take some adjustment for your hair type, length etc–you want it to feel “slimy” on your hair when you use it)

Fill the other with half apple cider vinegar and half water.  (You can also use the vinegar straight) The vinegar acts as a conditioner and is purely optional.  I have found the longer I use the baking soda the less I need vinegar with every wash.

When in the shower, wet hair, squirt the baking soda mixture all over your scalp and work it through your hair.

Rinse.

Pour the vinegar onto the ends of your hair and leave on for a few minutes (I found it smelled more if I put it on my scalp so I keep it on the ends but you can do either).

Rinse.

Dry hair (once it is dry you will not be able to smell the vinegar at all).

I use olive oil on my hair as a leave in treatment (just a few drops) and it works perfectly as a styling agent, de-frizzer and conditioner.

My hair has never been in such good shape–it’s amazing.

2 thoughts on “No ‘Poo

  1. So glad I came across your post. I was using the baking soda/vinegar no poo formula b/c I am what many call a health nut and like you I hate all the harmful chemicals in traditional products. However, my hair felt extra thick (I have very thick hair already) and as if there was something still in it…not sure how to explain it but I’m going to use more BS and make it slimy feeling as u put it. Thanks for the awesome post!

    P.S. Ur so right about the cost effectiveness!

Leave a Reply

