Later Days

Sleep at day

Bed in Summer

In winter I get up at night
And dress by yellow candle-light.
In summer, quite the other way,
I have to go to bed by day.

I have to go to bed and see
The birds still hopping on the tree,
Or hear the grown-up people’s feet
Still going past me in the street.

And does it not seem hard to you,
When all the sky is clear and blue,
And I should like so much to play,
To have to go to bed by day?

 -by Robert Louis Stevenson

Oh the exhaustion of putting children to bed in the daylight!  I used to think daylight savings was pretty fun–until I had children.  I love the warmer months, so having an extra hour of daylight to ride my bike or just be outside, was always thrilling.  Now that I have children, however, it just means an extra hour before bedtime!  I think blackout curtains are a genius product but they aren’t a cure all for the later evenings.  I’ve decided to be more relaxed about it this year.  As the weather gets warmer, I will plan evening picnics or walks to wear the children out instead of forcing bedtime.  Happy daylight savings!  Bring on the summer!
2 thoughts on “Later Days

Leave a Reply

