Cooking Tips

As I find them, I’ll share them.  My two favorite cooking tips that I use all the time are:

1. Wine.  Even if you don’t drink it, I suggest having a bottle of wine around to use while cooking.  My favorite is an inexpensive bottle of port.  (But I’ve used boxed wines and white wines) I add it mostly to anything sautéed and to meat while it is cooking.  It brings a very gourmet flavor to the dish. (And if you add it in the beginning, all the alcohol gets cooked out).

2. Sugar (or honey or agave). I always add sugar to anything with tomatoes (or similarly acidic).  It cuts that distinct tangy sensation and brings out the flavors.

Happy cooking!!

Leave a Reply

